WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency will start accepting nominations June 14 for county committee members.

Ag producers who participate or cooperate in an FSA program may be nominated.

Committees make important decisions about how federal farm programs — disaster, conservation, commodity and price support — are administered locally.

County committees are made up of 3-11 members who typically meet once a month. Terms are three years.

Check with your local FSA office to determine if there is a 2019 election in your county. The form and other information are posted at fsa.usda.gov/elections.

The 2019 nominations must be postmarked or received at the local FSA office by Aug. 1. Ballots will be mailed to eligible voters starting Nov. 4.

Recommended for you